Creeslough explosion

7.10.2022 | Church in Society, Statements

The Presbyterian Church in Ireland’s Presbytery of Derry and Donegal issued the following statement on today's explosion in Creeslough, County Donegal.

On behalf of the Presbytery, Reverend Paul Linkens, Clerk of Presbytery of Derry and Donegal said,

This afternoon’s explosion in Creeslough has come as terrible shock. Our thoughts and prayers are with those who have been injured and their families who are understandably shaken and worried by what has happened, especially those who are still awaiting news of their loved ones. As the emergency services continue to work into the night with skill and determination, we give thanks for their commitment and perseverance and continue to pray for everyone caught up in this heart-breaking incident.

There are currently 19 regional presbyteries. The Presbytery of Monaghan and the Presbytery of Dublin and Munster are located in the Republic of Ireland, while the Presbytery of Derry and Donegal is cross border, with congregations located in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

Each presbytery consists of ministers and elders who are drawn from local congregations and other ministries in a particular area. As a court of the church, each presbytery is responsible for overseeing those congregations in its local area, while undertaking other important tasks, which include the ordination and installation of ministers (also known as teaching elders), the ordination of elders, and the annual selection of the Moderator.

Presbytery of Derry and Donegal

From Ballykelly in the north eastern part of the presbytery, to Donegal town in the south west, Dunfanaghy in the north west to Sion Mills to the south east, the cross-border Presbytery of Derry and Donegal stretches across three counties in the north western corner of the island. With most of its 48 congregations centred around the City of Londonderry and the eastern half of County Donegal, 30 are located in Donegal with 18 in Northern Ireland.

Back to News