Prayers for Creeslough

8.10.2022 | Moderator, Church in Society, Statements

Presbyterian Moderator, Right Reverend Dr John Kirkpatrick, has offered his prayers and heartfelt sympathy to all those who have lost loved ones as a result of yesterday's explosion in Creeslough, County Donegal.

In his statement Dr Kirkpatrick said,

This tragedy has sent a collective wave of deep shock, not just across Donegal, but throughout all communities on our island, no matter where we are. On behalf of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland I want to send the people of Creeslough our love, prayers and support.

I have been deeply moved and shocked by Friday’s tragic events and want to express the heartfelt condolences of the Presbyterian family to everyone who has lost loved ones and to assure those who have also been injured and traumatised by this awful tragedy of our prayers, especially those who are still awaiting news.

I am also very conscious of the crucial work of the first responders and emergency services who have worked tirelessly, including hospital staff, clergy and local schools. I pay tribute to them and express our deep appreciation for their work now and in the weeks and months to come.

Yesterday evening the Presbytery of Derry and Donegal issued a statement, which you can read here.

There are currently 19 regional presbyteries. The Presbytery of Monaghan and the Presbytery of Dublin and Munster are located in the Republic of Ireland, while the Presbytery of Derry and Donegal is cross border, with congregations located in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

Each presbytery consists of ministers and elders who are drawn from local congregations and other ministries in a particular area. As a court of the church, each presbytery is responsible for overseeing those congregations in its local area, while undertaking other important tasks, which include the ordination and installation of ministers (also known as teaching elders), the ordination of elders, and the annual selection of the Moderator.

Presbytery of Derry and Donegal

From Ballykelly in the north eastern part of the presbytery, to Donegal town in the south west, Dunfanaghy in the north west to Sion Mills to the south east, the cross-border Presbytery of Derry and Donegal stretches across three counties in the north western corner of the island. With most of its 48 congregations centred around the City of Londonderry and the eastern half of County Donegal, 30 are located in Donegal with 18 in Northern Ireland.

Back to News